Skip to content
April 23, 2012 / martinezyoga

Yoga Sutra Quote of the Day. Chapter 3. Verse 31.

The word chakra is a Sanskrit term meaning “wheel”, for chakras are immaterial energy centers that distribute life force (prana) via the nadi (energy channels) throughout the energetic body interpenetrating the physical one. There are seven main chakras that are located centrally in the front and the posterior of the body. This work is a representation of the fifth chakra, vishuddhi, located at the throat.

“Focusing with perfect discipline on the pit of the throat eradicates hunger and thirst.” Patañjali trs. Chip Hartranft.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: